Testimonials

Visitor Testimonials & Reviews

Truly, Paradise on the Osa | 5 Stars 

Tres Palmas is absolutely breathtaking. The attention to detail in respect to the lodgings were far beyond my expectations. The craftsmanship of the main building and cabanas showed all the hallmarks of skilled crafters, even down to the hand carved reliefs on all of the solid wood doors. The grandeur of Tres Palmas is further heighted by the fact that this beauty is in fact smack dab in the middle of the Jungle The surrounding jungle and trees were teaming with wildlife every day. We spotted the majority of the may species from the comfort of the negative edge pool or within a short walk from the houses. I read that this area was rich in plant and animal species but never expected it to be literally outside my bedroom door. But wait…. as if this was not enough sensory overload it got better. World renowned surf was breaking just a short, but steep hike, away. The hike down to the beaches in the mornings were fantastic. The caretaker (Marvin) and his wife (Yerlin) were first class all the way. From the superior meals they cooked for us (there were 6 in our party) to the cleanliness of the house. Marvin was also very informative about the local culture, terrain, safety precautions, pointing out wild life and just being an all around wonderful person. Thinking back now, after being back in the states for a week, all I can say is WOW!!! Words really can not describe this place. One has to immerse themselves in order to get a full understanding.

THANK YOU!! Marvin, Yerlin and family.

Submitted: May 17, 2015 • Stayed: May 2015 • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


Great Option on the Osa | 5 Stars 

We had a great experience at Tres Palmas. Beautiful location, great accommodations, and all the amenities you need for a memorable beach/jungle vacation. We were a party of eight- all family members ranging from young adults to grandma. Brad, the property manager works with you to arrange flights, car rentals, excursions and meals. This was our second trip to the Osa this year and we will be back again, I am sure. So much natural beauty, so many animals, such a welcoming place! And Tres Palmas is a perfect base from which to launch your daily adventures! In fact, just getting there is an adventure. We cannot wait to come back.

Robert F.

Submitted: Dec 22, 2016 • Stayed: Dec 2016 •  Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


Jungle paradise! Private, remote, 5 star amenities, unbelievable views, the perfect get-away! | 5 Stars 

The jungle villa was the perfect setting for my company incentive trip! I, along with four couples, made this jungle paradise home for 5 days! We wanted an adventure & we got it! If you’re looking for something unusual, out of the box, & most likely a never been done experience, this is it!

The villa sleeps 4 couples in comfortable jungle style. We had all our meals prepared daily & they were fantastic! The sites & sounds all around us were spectacular!

Everyday there were more activities than we had time to enjoy. Fishing, repelling alongside waterfalls, & sailing were a blast!

I highly recommend this experience to anyone with an adventurous soul!

Deron F.

Submitted: Aug 8, 2016 • Stayed: Jul 2016 • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


Best Family Vacation ever! 

Our family absolutely loved Tres Palmas. We experienced the best vacation imaginable. It was perfect for our family of 6 adults (grandparents, 2 sons and wives, and 5 grandchildren ranging in age from 4 to 15). Brad, the knowledgeable property manager, helped with airline reservations, car rental, and meal planning and excursion reservations.

The kids enjoyed the rough road through the rain forest leading to Tres Palmas and their first introduction to the plentiful wildlife. Upon arrival at hidden and private Tres Palmas, the beauty of the villa, the infinity pool, and the panoramic view of the ocean stunned us. The lovely master suites and Cabinas gave everyone their own space. Each accommodation had an ocean view with a lovely outdoor shower attached. Fans and ocean breezes kept the rooms pleasant and cool. We all ate buffet style together in the large open great room with its ocean view and soaring thatched roof.

We enjoyed having excellent chef, Sedie; cook our 3 meals each day. This luxury was well worth it. Sedie created fresh and delicious meals with plenty of local produce. Some of our favorites were smoked pork chops with pineapple sauce, fresh fish and Casados. A daily treat was the “four o’clock Guac”(guacamole and chips) which we enjoyed with mojitos or lime smoothies, She even made a birthday cake. Marjorie gave fantastic massages, a real treat after our vigorous adventures. We had a hot water problem and Jose immediately bought a new heater and fixed it.

We were amazed by the number and variety of animals right on the property: howler, spider and capuchin monkeys, macaws, toucans, parrots, vultures, iguanas, poison dart frogs, 10-inch walking sticks, peccaries and agoutis, to name a few. The kids were delighted and amazed. The pool was in constant use when we were not on an adventure. Some of the best were horseback riding with Carlos, waterfall rappelling and tree climb/jump with Andy, i/2 day in shore fishing and zip-lining in La Palma. Sedie cooked the large jack fish we caught for dinner. We also caught 3 rooster fish . Surfing and standup paddle boarding (rent on beach at Encanta La Vida) were great on Pan Dulce Beach down the stairway trail from the villa to the left of Matapalo and Backwash beaches. Brad was extremely helpful in arranging the adventures which were just the guide/skipper and our family.

Our stay at Tres Palmas gave us memories to share for a lifetime.

It was a truly fantastic family vacation.

Elizabeth, C.

Submitted: Jul 25, 2016  • Stayed: Jul 2016  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


Perfect Vacation for Adventure Seekers! 

We love Tres Palmas! This was our second trip. On both occasions we traveled with another family. This time our group was 4 adults and 5 kids (ages 7-12). This place is not easy to get to, but that is part of the charm. It is truly luxurious, and is such a special place to come “home” to after a long day exploring the HOT jungle, or surfing, horseback riding, zip-lining, kayaking, tree climbing, or just a day at the beach! The kids were in the infinity pool at sunrise and pretty much any time we weren’t out adventuring! Marvin, Yerlin, and their family are just incredible hosts. They think of everything. We had them shop for us and prepare and clean up all the meals and it is well worth it! Such a treat to not have to worry about feeding everyone and they do a great job of catering to everyone’s needs – we had 2 vegetarians in our group and they always made extra veggie side dishes etc. The food is fresh and delicious. Definitely have them make you their ceviche and the empanadas – just 2 of our favorites. The wildlife is plentiful and we saw much of it just lounging at the house. The tours that Brad (the property manager) helped us set up were amazing! We were very busy and active while we were there, but you could easily do much less than we did and still have a wonderful time. Brad was very helpful to work with and we really appreciate all the effort he went to.

One of the best vacations we have ever had! We were sad to leave, and hope to be lucky enough to return again!

Janet L.

Submitted: Mar 29, 2016  • Stayed: Mar 2016 • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


An unbelievable paradise located in the primary rain-forest! Heaven on Earth! 

I have stayed in many luxurious places around the world – but nothing can compare to Tres Palmas. To begin with, we absolutely love the Osa Peninsula and have always stayed at the beautiful Lapa Rios property. On this occasion, we were traveling with a group so we decided to rent a home. We are so happy that we did.

Tres Palmas is the most stunning property I have ever seen. The location is set in primary rain-forest above captivating views of the ocean and jungle. Over the course of a week – we saw four species of monkey, peccary, toucans, macaws, parrots, parakeets, vultures, tayras, and much more. If you are a nature lover, simply take a stroll around the property early in the morning or about 4pm – and you won’t believe how active this jungle is. Throughout the property, you will find amazing flowers and fruit trees of all kinds (mango, lime, orange, starfruit, bananas, etc). The hike to the beach is beautiful and when you arrive you will have miles of unspoiled beaches all to yourself (the hike back up is a little hard). The fact that the home sits above the ocean allows for a continuous ocean breeze and wonderful temperatures.

The massive, open-air home is beyond words. Clean, updated, relaxing, and with the best views I’ve seen anywhere in the world. We usually all congregated in the main living area where there were couches, hammocks, lounges, etc. We also spent hours each day in the gorgeous infinity-edged pool. Each of the casitas were beautiful and very large. There are four suites – two king and two queen. The queen suites are perfect for children as there is a separate bedroom with bunk-beds and a locking door. The beds and linens are very comfortable and you have all the amenities of a five-star hotel in the room. The ceiling fans and open windows allowed the ocean breeze to fill the room and sleeping temperatures were very comfortable. The queen suites also have a sitting area. The bathrooms were very beautiful – updated, modern and even an outdoor shower area. One note – for some reason the queen suites have hot water whereas the two king suites did not.

Now for the food! It was simply put – AWESOME! We chose to purchase the all-inclusive package and the staff and chef never disappointed (and we had three meals per day). Glorious fresh-fruit (some ripened on the trees of the property), Costa Rican breakfasts, traditional Costa Rican lunches, and dinners of all varieties. Every meal was a delight!!!! Dinners had tons of variety from fresh caught fish, to tender steak, to amazing fresh shrimp, and so on. The staff also made delicious, fresh desserts with every dinner. On the whole, the entire culinary experience was superb and not to be missed. The only thing that would have made it even better would be some fresh juices. The papaya and mangoes they served were the best I have ever had in my life.

I also have to mention the great staff which made us feel welcomed and cared for the entire trip. They were all awesome and we tipped them very well on the last night. We also arranged tons of tours through Brad – all of which were excellent. In no particular order we did – two local 4 hour hikes, Corcovado, the night hike, kayaking in the mangroves, and horseback riding. All were an A++. For all but one tour – Rodolfo was our guide. I HIGHLY recommend him. He was kind, very funny, very informed, and knew the trails inside and out. For Corcovado we had Melvin whom I had worked with before at another hotel. He too is excellent. Brad and George were both very helpful and made the booking experience flawless.

On the whole, as a guy that travels the world – this was by far my favorite vacation. The house, the staff, the nature, and the setting were just amazing. Will I be going back? As soon as humanly possible. We cannot to wait to return to this stunning home that left us with great memories that we will never forget.

Note – we also brought our two-year-old daughter and she had a very good time.

Andrew • Trip Advisor 2017


Pure Paradise! 

We arrived to Tres Palmas early in the morning and were immediately in love. The main house was like nothing we had ever seen before and you can definitely see the love and dedication that was put into creating this haven in the middle of the jungle. We had such a relaxing time laying by the pool, watching macaws and toucans fly by, while hearing and seeing monkeys swinging and playing through the trees. A little slice of paradise that we were so fortunate to travel to, I would recommend going if you’re looking for the perfect escape. With so much to do (or so little if you choose), there is something for everyone: from surfing, to fishing, exploring the jungle, hiking to waterfalls. We can’t wait to go back and try the zip lining and horseback riding down the beach! The staff was incredible and the food was delicious! Tres Palmas is absolutely breathtaking!

Morgan A. • Trip Advisor 2016